CMS College, Kottayam

CMS College

llege, Kottayam, Kerala   |   ESTD : 1812   |   Approved By: Type: Private
0 Reviews   |   0481-2565002   |
Save your shortlist, get updates, college recommendations etc.

Overview Information

About College

C M S College, Kottayam was established in 1817 by the Church Missionary Society of England, is the oldest of the institutions for higher education in South India. In 1857 the college was affiliated to Madras University and at present, the college is affiliated to Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam.  The College was first accredited by NAAC in 1999 with Five Star. The reaccreditation was in 2007 with ‘B++’ Grade. The UGC granted the status of ‘Centre with Potential for Excellence’ in 2004. The college strives to achieve excellence by imparting quality education through teaching, learning, research and extension activities and to inculcate values of integrity, justice and compassion in the young minds to keep alive the missionary zeal of the founders.


  • Department of Physics

  • Department of Chemistry

  • Department of Botany

  • Department of Mathematics

  • Department of Commerce

  • Department of English

  • Department of History

  • Department of Economics

  • Department of Statistics

  • Department of Sociology

  • Department of Biotechnology

  • Department of Computer Science


  • Toyo University, Japan

  • Greenwich University, UK

  • Madurai Kamraj University, Tamil Nadu

  • Amrita Viswa Vidyalaya, Coimbatore

  • CLHRD, Mangalore

  • KELTRON, Kerala


  • Dr. K. R. Narayanan, former President of India

  • Mr.K. P. S. Menon; formulator of Indian Foreign Policy

  • Sardar K. M. Panicker, former Ambassador to China

  • Dr.E.C.G Sudharshan, world famous Physicist

  • Padmabhooshan Dr.Jacob Chandy, noted Neurosurgeon  

  • Justice K. T. Thomas, former Judge of the Supreme Court of India;

  • Padmabhooshan Sri. K. M. Mathew, Chief Editor of Malayala Manorama;

  • Mr.Oommen Chandy, former Chief Minister of Kerala,

  • Mr.Suresh Kurup, Member of Parliament, Olympian Sally (former national football player)

  • Prof. Sudarshan, nominated for Nobel Prize 9 times for Tachyon Theory


  • Ethnobotanical, hotochemical and pharmacognostic studies on Premna serratifolia L.

  • DNA Barcoding of Murdannia (Commelinaceae) in Western Ghats

  • Development of A Microbial Consortium For The Degradation Of Natural Rubber And Implementation Of The Microcosm To Process Rubber Waste-Ist Installment Synthesis and Characterization of Albumin – Metal Conjugate Nanoparticles

  • Study on the hypocholesterolemic effect of selected herb suffering from Mild Hypercholesterolemia

  • Designing different material combinations of ceramic polymer composites for different technological applications

  • Studies on riverine flora of Pamba river basin, Kerala

Extra Curricular Activities

NSS - The College has 2 NSS units which also bagged the best NSS Unit award in 2010.

NCC -  The NCC unit of college takes active participation in programmes. Both boys and girls are enrolled as cadets. Cadet Abhi Anil of the college was selected as a Best Shooter and Best Cadet during the Inter Group Competition 2012-2013.



The Great Hall auditorium which can accommodate about 700 people.


All the 67 classrooms are well furnished.

IT Infrastructure

184 computers are made available throughout the Wifi and LAN enabled campus.


Built up area of the library is 21,786 sq. ft. consisting of General Library, PG Library, Reference Section and IT Zone. The current strength of materials comprises 69,000 books, 6127 titles, 63 Journals and 40 periodicals.


The college has 2 women hostel which can accommodate 210 students collectively and 1 male hostel with accommodation capacity of 20 students.  

Student Clubs

  • Nature Club

  • Entrepreneurship Club



  • The college Cricket Team stood 1st in the M G University Intercollegiate Cricket 2011-2012

  • The college Soft-Ball Team stood 2nd in the M G University Intercollegiate Softball 2011-2012

  • Suraj S (Economics) got selection to the Kerala State Cricket Team

  • The college team stood 1st in M G University Cricket Tournament 2012-2013

  • The college team stood 2nd in M G University Soft Ball Tournament 2012-2013

  • Anjali Devi, a student of B.A English of the College won ‘Kalathilakam’ in M.G University Youth Festival in 2007

Student Awards

  • S.S Unnithan Memorial Award for the student securing highest mark in 1st Year M.Sc. Mathematics

  • Prof. Cherian Jacob Endowment Award for the best actor in Drama Competitions conducted by the college

  • Smt.K.M Mollykutty Memorial Award for the best outgoing B.Sc Chemistry student

  • Elizabeth Ninan Memorial Award for the student securing the highest marks in the 3rd Year B.A English Literature

  • Prof. G. Robblen Endowment for the best outgoing graduate in Botany

  • Prof. Andreas Graner Endowment for the best outgoing graduate student in Biotechnology

  • K.V John Endowment for the student securing the highest marks in 3rd Year B.Com


  • SC/ST Student Scholarships

  • Economically Weaker Section Student Scholarships

  • Post Matric Student Scholarships

  • Central Sector Scholarships

  • Suvarna Jubilee Scholarships

  • Muslim Girls Scholarships

  • Single Girl Child Scholarships

  • University Merit Scholarships

  • Labour Welfare Scholarships

  • NCERT Scholarships

  • District Merit Scholarships

  • Fisherman Scholarships

  • Merit-cum-means Scholarships

College Infrastructure and Facility

Student Discussion